January 24 Flu Shot Irony

After all the media attention about how ill people have been with the flu, I decided that I should get the shot.  I probably haven’t had one for at least twenty years.  And after this week I can see that there is a good reason for it.  I dutifully went to my doctor’s office and fortunately was out quickly with a sheet describing the shot and most importantly the side effects I could expect; things like a sore arm or a slight fever.  Late that night, I woke from a sound sleep and started sneezing and sneezing and sneezing.  I was awake every hour or so having to blow my nose.  All the next day I felt like I had a terrible sinus infection.  And then it just went away!  A one day cold.  So that is where the irony comes in.  Was this just a reaction to the shot?  Or did I really have a cold for one day?  I’m just happy to feel better again.

image

Along with the rest of the country we are in the midst of a “Polar Vortex”, and finding it very difficult to enjoy the freezing temperatures and snow.  I have to admit that this is the first time I have even heard of this phenomena.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

